Skip to content
January 3, 2010 / P. Filippaios

Happy New Year ! I’m Windows-less !

I 'd really like to know what happened. But I can't.

And yes, after exactly three months with native Windows 7 x64 installation, it is now gone and the partition became my /mnt/Data.

“Why?” you’d ask. Not because I ‘m one of those anti-DRM guys (I don’t like DRM either, but not that way) anti-Windows anti-fans that each time they see “Windows”, they get covered with angry pimples.

It’s the fact that it got TOO unstable, with NO reason. The boot time got slower with NO reason, the system became unstable (I suddenly didn’t have admin rights through UAC!) with NO reason, the explorer.exe modules weren’t recognised, the devices weren’t recognised right. That happened some days ago. And before that happened, everything was alright. And, of course, there was no virus/trojan/bug etc, I checked that right.

I did everything to keep my installation clean. But that couldn’t happen. And I like Windows 7, but not more than my Arch installation (living since 2007).

Well, now, a new Win7 installation is living within my VBox. Let’s see if it’ll survive. I’ll miss COD6 though …

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gtklocker / Jan 3 2010 6:47 pm

    I told you, it was just a kick. Hehehe.

  2. techwoo / Jan 10 2010 1:13 pm

    Happy New Year ! I'm Windows-less ! .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.

Leave a Reply

