Skip to content
October 24, 2010 / P. Filippaios

Yes, we like HAL-less systems, ep2

First, I realised that I haven’t written in my blog for a long time, but that’s due to reduced free time. So, the time spent for blogging has been in very low priority, I’m sorry for those that keep looking for new posts in here.

Second, and on topic: Some of you may remember my Xorg 1.8 post and it’s HAL free deps. Well, I have more news now, not for Xorg, but for my favorite DE, KDE SC.

Well, since the version 4.5.73, KDE is starting to move it’s Solid Framework’s dependency on HAL to Udisks. The next major kpart will be Powerdevil, that will be ported to Upower (not so sure about *this* on yet). Good news ? Yes it is.

Check the KDE archwiki page for the kde-snapshot repo and, if you are adventurous enough, upgrade to the latest KDE snapshot.

I'll be back.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. MadAGu / Oct 24 2010 7:12 pm

    well that’s some news 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Vamos modernizar o Linux: um desktop sem HAL « Tecnologia e etc.
  2. 2010 in review « Linuxology

Leave a Reply

